How is your spring cleaning going? Hopefully you feel happy to wake up to your clean and clutter free kitchen.  Today we will be focusing on the bathrooms of your home, as well as a few other random things that need to be done around the home. Also for more bathroom tips you can check out my post about the, A Bowl Full of Lemons 31 day Purge post.

Day Three

Bathrooms – Depending on how many bathrooms you have (and if you decide you want to tackle them all today) will determine how long today’s task takes you. Hopefully you are ready to go through all your bathroom cabinets and establish more order and cleanliness in an area of our home we spend a lot of time in. You might even find some items you might have forgot about, which is always a good bonus. When your bathroom is neat and organized it makes getting ready much easier, and efficient.

Open all windows in your bathroom and clean the windows as described in my precious posts. The fresh air will be nice while you are working hard.

If you have any mold in your shower you can make a spray containing half hydrogen peroxide and half water and spray those areas. If you do not have hydrogen peroxide, you can use a mix of rubbing alcohol and water. Let it sit and clean your shower last. This spray can also be used to spray these areas daily as a shower spray.

Do you have a Jacuzzi tub? If so fill it up with warm water and use dish washer detergent to give it a good clean. Just use the same amount you would to do a load of dishes. Let the jets run for 20 minutes or so and then drain. Dishwasher detergent is great because it gets rid of any hard water build up and makes it much easier to scrub clean. I use these dishwasher tablets. They are great for my hard water and my dishes have never been cleaner. It dissolves quickly for the tub as well. After your water has drained give your tub a good scrub. I used my scrub buddy and will be using him again the shower when I get there in a bit. For your regular showers and or tubs you can wait to clean them till we are almost finished because you might get wet!

Go through your medicine cabinet(s) and discard products you no longer use or that are expired. Wipe down each shelf and before you put your put your item away. You might possibly need to make a list of items you need to replace next time  you go to the store.

Empty all your bathroom drawers and wipe them clean. I use baby wipes for this task along with most of the quick cleaning in my bathroom. When going through your hair products, discard those products you never use, if you haven’t been using it, chances are you didn’t like it and it is just taking up space where a good hair product can go. You might have a friend or family member that might want to give the product a try, so set it aside for them if you don’t want to trash it. Also, go through your brushes, combs, bobby pins, and curling irons and the like. Do you possibly need to toss a brush and add it to your shopping list, or need some more bobby pins? Take note now. I know sometimes we buy hair gadgets that seem great, but don’t work on our particular hair type. Wipe them clean with a baby wipe, and toss it in your donate box. You won’t miss it.

Go through your make up and discard any items that are expired or that you are no longer using. Once again you might want to add a few items to your shopping list.

Next clean out all your cabinets. It’s also a good time to go through your bath towels and discard your ratty ones that have holes or strings. and replace them with some fresh ones. This is also a good time to deep clean all the bath towels that you are keeping. Here are the instructions from lifehacker.com

Over time, and with many washes, your bath towels will build up detergent and fabric softener residue, leaving them both unable to absorb as much water and smelling kinda funky when they do. Rather than give Target another lump sum, run them through the wash once with hot water and a cup of vinegar, then again with hot water and a half-cup of baking soda, as wikiHow suggests. That strips the residue from them, leaves them smelling fairly fresh again, and makes your post-shower experience a dryer one, at that. (Original post).

Use a baby wipe, or the cleaner of your choice and wipe down the fronts of all your cabinets and drawers. You can also use baby wipes to clean your base boards and wipe down the outside of your toilet.

If you are having problems with drains, today is a good day to use a drain cleaner. I tried a new drain cleaning remedy today which is using a few drops of doterra Purify with a sink full (or in my tub) of warm water and then letting it drain. I used 3 drops in my sinks and 6 in my large tub. I could already hear the drain moving again in my master sink.

After you wash your towels, make sure to machine wash all your shower curtains and bath mats.

Now it’s time to clean the shower! The best thing I find to keep my shower sparkling is to use dish soap. I love using this because one, you can get a smell that isn’t harsh (I use lavender-scented) and two it really helps get ride of hard water stains. I use my scrub buddy and just scrub away. You can now scrub the areas that you sprayed your water and peroxide mix on. The mold should be going away, and hopefully you will only need to scrub it a few more times for it to no longer be a problem, and then just have to maintain.

Now you can do your regular cleaning for the bathrooms;

  • Mirrors
  • toilets
  • counter tops
  • sinks
  • sweep and or mop
2294
I have these hand towels in all my bathrooms. You can see them here in my Little Mermaid Guest bath. They fit easily on a regular towel bar.

Side note: I like to keep well stocked bathrooms in my home. Under the sink you will always find new hand soaps bath bars, tissues, extra toilet paper. I buy most of theses items at the dollar store, but you can sometimes find them even cheaper with coupons. One of my splurge items for my bathrooms are Kleenex hand towels. I have them delivered with the amazon subscribe and save. I highly recommend using these hand towels because wiping your hands on the same towel as everyone else (especially in a guest bathroom) is non sanitary. Recently I had a super bowl party at my home and my father in law even took the time to thank me for having them in the bathroom that day. When you have several guests over for a party, towels get trashed very quickly. Why not give your guests (and yourself) a clean towel to dry their hands?

Now just a few little tasks to do around the house.

Miscellaneous home task list

  • Replace burnt out light bulbs
  • Change all filters
  • Clean lamps and lampshades

My reviews and cleaning plans are pure advice and you should check your cleaning labels, and manufacturers instructions for all  your products and appliances. I am not endorsed by any of the products I recommend. 

Leave a comment