Weused_to_be_friends

According to the source of all knowledge, Wikipedia;

We Used to Be Friends” is a song by American alternative rock band The Dandy Warhols. It was released as the lead single from their fourth studio album, Welcome to the Monkey House, on 23 April 2003. The single failed to chart in the US but peaked at No. 18 in the UK.[1] The song is known for being the theme song to the TV series Veronica Mars, and was also notably featured in an episode of the The O.C., the FIFA Football 2004 soundtrack.

I first discovered this song when I binge watched, Veronica Mars, on amazon primes a few years back. Instantly I was obsessed with it and bought it on iTunes. Quickly it became one of the most played jams in my car. On top of playing it in the car it is the number one played song on my touch tunes account for when I play songs at places that use that jukebox application.

If you have seen the Veronica Mars movie you will see Alejandro Escovedo singing an acoustic version of the song as a street performer. That scene made me giggle and was much appreciate from this fan of the song and series.

“We Used To Be Friends”

A long time ago, we used to be friends
But I haven’t thought of you lately at all
If ever again, a greeting I send to you,
Short and sweet to the soul is all I intend.

a, ah-ahh-ahh-ahh
a, ah-ahh-ahh-ahh
a, ah-ahh-ahh-ahh
a, ah-ahh-ahh-ahh

Come on now, honey,
bring it on, bring it on, yeah.
Just remember me when you’re good to go
Come on now, sugar,
bring it on, bring it on, yeah.
just remember me when.

It’s something I said, or someone I know.
Or you called me up, maybe I wasn’t home.
Now everybody needs some time,
and everybody knows
The rest of it’s fine
And everybody knows that.

Come on now, sugar,
bring it on, bring it on, yeah.
Just remember me when you’re good to go
Come on now, honey,
bring it on, bring it on, yeah.
just remember me when.

We used to be friends a long time ago.
We used to be friends a long time ago.
We used to be friends a long time ago.
We used to be friends, hey
hey

a, ah-ahh-ahh-ahh
a, ah-ahh-ahh-ahh
a, ah-ahh-ahh-ahh
a, ah-ahh-ahh-ahh

A long time ago, we used to be friends
But I haven’t thought of you lately at all
If ever again, a greeting I send to you,
Short and sweet to the soul is all I intend.

We used to be friends a long time ago.
We used to be friends a long time ago.
We used to be friends a long time ago.
We used to be friends,
a, ah-ahh-ahh-ahh
a, ah-ahh-ahh-ahh
a, ah-ahh-ahh-ahh
a, ah-ahh-ahh-ahh

The writers are more kind than myself, because when I think of this song and people that I used to be friends with, I am more sarcastic when I think, “But I haven’t thought of you lately at all.” I would hope that they would think that they are not on my mind, when in reality they pop in from time to time, and maybe more often than they should since I am obsessed with this song.

Leave a Reply

