One of my favorite Frank Sinatra songs is, “That’s Life” and I find myself singing it while I take a drag from my vape, drink some scotch on the rocks and proceed to pretend I to be singing in some swanky 1960’s night club. It’s a good fantasy. Here is some additional information on, That’s Life, according to wiki;

“That’s Life” is a popular song written by Dean Kay and Kelly Gordon and first recorded by Marion Montgomery. The most famous version is by Frank Sinatra, released on his 1966 album of the same name. Sinatra recorded the song after hearing an earlier cover of it by O.C. Smith; the song proved successful and reached the fourth spot on the Billboard Hot 100 singles chart. Following the success of Sinatra’s version, it was subsequently recorded by a number of artists including Aretha Franklin, Shirley Bassey, James Brown, Michael Bolton, Michael Bublé and Russell Watson. (Wikipedia)

This song, along with My Way could easily be anthems of my life. Some months I really feel like everything is going smoothly and I am right on top and then the very next minute can be, “flat on my face” but I continue to, “pick myself up and get back in the race.” Life has it’s ups and downs, and the key is when you are down, to make a joke and take a moment and then pick yourself back up and move on. In the line, “Some people get their kicks, Steppin’ on a dream” I think really speaks to how there will always be negative people trying to drag you down to their miserable existence, and cannot stand to see people succeed, or have their dreams come true. In November 2013 we were on top of the world when Erik was born, and finally we had a baby in our arms, and made it home from the hospital to live happily ever after, but in just the next month those dreams were crushed and just in an instant, Erik was gone. Extreme high and low, but, “that’s life (that’s life) that’s what all people say” Instead of being caring during this time many told us to give up and not have any children, but, “I just can’t let it, let it get me down, ‘Cause this fine old world, it keeps spinnin’ around.” Of course these times are hard, “I tell you, I can’t deny it, I thought of quitting, baby but my heart just ain’t gonna buy it  ‘And if I didn’t think it was worth one single try, I’d jump right on a big bird and then I’d fly.” There has been more than one attempt at our dreams, and much heartbreak. During the lows I have dreams of moving away and starting life all over again. Of course I know wherever I am, all the problems will follow, but at times it seems like a great way to escape. When life is at a low, I try to remember all the times, good or bad, and what we have learned and how they make us who we are today. Which is why I think the song tells us he’s been, “puppet, a pauper, a pirate,  A poet, a pawn and a king.” When life gets your down, don’t let it define you, easier said than done at times to be sure but, that’s life.

frank

That’s Life

That’s life (that’s life) that’s what all people say
You’re riding high in April,
Shot down in May
But I know I’m gonna change their tune,
When I’m back on top, back on top in June

I said that’s life (that’s life) and as funny as it may seem
Some people get their kicks,
Steppin’ on a dream
But I just can’t let it, let it get me down,
‘Cause this fine old world, it keeps spinnin’ around

I’ve been a puppet, a pauper, a pirate,
A poet, a pawn and a king
I’ve been up and down and over and out
And I know one thing
Each time I find myself flat on my face,
I pick myself up and get back in the race

That’s life (that’s life), I tell you, I can’t deny it,
I thought of quitting, baby
But my heart just ain’t gonna buy it
‘And if I didn’t think it was worth one single try,
I’d jump right on a big bird and then I’d fly

I’ve been a puppet, a pauper, a pirate,
A poet, a pawn and a king
I’ve been up and down and over and out
And I know one thing
Each time I find myself flat on my face,
I just pick myself up and get back in the race

That’s life (that’s life), that’s life, I can’t deny it,
Many times I thought of cuttin’ out, but my heart won’t buy it
But if there’s nothing shaken come here this July,
I’m gonna roll myself up in a big ball and die
My, my

Songwriters
KAY, DEAN / GORDON, KELLY L.


Read more: Frank Sinatra – That’s Life Lyrics | MetroLyrics

Leave a Reply

