After months of debating adding rather of not to add a, My Jam Monday, feature to the blog I went ahead and decided to, “step across the line.” (Clarkson, 2) When listening to music I always focus on the lyrics and how the respond to my life and thought it would be fun to share it with others. Oddly, when thinking about what my first “jam” I would write about would be, I would never have chosen, “Impossible” and not because I do not love the song, but because so many others have been being played over and over on repeat these days. Why, “Impossible”, well, I decided to look on my iTunes and see what was my number one played song, and here it is. “Impossible” has been played over 245 times and climbing as it is currently being played on repeat while I write this blog. “Impossible” is the twelfth tack on Clarkson’s, “All I Ever Wanted” album which was released March 6th, 2009 and it Kelly’s forth studio album. The song was written with Kelly along with Ryan Tedder from OneRepublic.

IMG_0817
Me and Ian in 2009

When this song came out in 2009 I bought it right before going on vacation and having heard the album maybe one or two times through before the plane ride, “Impossible” quickly became my album favorite and was played on repeat during the flight. 2009 was a very odd year for me, so odd in fact that when I go on my computer to find photos of what I was doing in 2009, nothing comes up. I have 2006-2008 and then 2010 until today mixed with a few old photos of life before my digital photos that were scanned in. Where is 2009, and what the heck was I doing. I guess we could say I was, “walking by myself… This lonely road’s becoming my new home. But I don’t stop, I just keep moving on and on. Ain’t no need to dry my eyes. I haven’t cried in quite some time. Every day I fight it, you know it’s possible.” (Clarkson, 13-18) In 2009 I turned 28 years old, and was having a hard time managing life choices and directions for my future. The following years (2010-2011) were insanely important in shaping the rest of my life (I had a hysterectomy and started on an adoption path) looking back I think my searching for the impossible in this year helped prepare me for the ups and downs to follow. I listened to this song, over and over in this time, and every now and then I still love to belt out the lyrics and remember that I can, and do the impossible everyday. I rose above, no one can tell me what is or is not impossible for me.

Also in 2009 when this song came out I  had my ten year high school reunion. Upson further digging, I found some photos that my sister took while she was here on vacation for the reunion. The high school reunion was a total bust, boring as all get out and not a single one of the people I wanted to see attended. Realizing that the past should stay exactly where one left it, I decided never to go to another stupid class reunion again. Why should I care what happened to these people? They could care less what happened to me, hence they didn’t even show. Knowing they could care less, now actually makes me even happier for them. Being just one step closer to turning thirty, this year was a turning point in my life that has lead to my, I don’t give a crap, attitude towards the world. No longer do others thoughts and opinions make me stumble, I take my chances in life, and when someone draws the line, “I will stumble and I’ll make my own mistakes, yeah,  But I won’t worry about it anymore, it’s impossible.” (Clarkson, 27-28)

Impossible

Just woke up and thought I’d try
Try to step across the line
You know that I’ve been thinking about it for a while, yeah
Starting to think it’s time I leave
Does me good to know I finally feel
Feel this pain, it’s really possible

Can’t change the wind you say
Won’t matter anyway
Can’t reach that far ’cause it’s impossible
Can’t rise above this place
Won’t change enough, so I pray
Breaking down the walls to the impossible

Walking by myself I know
This lonely road’s becoming my new home
But I don’t stop, I just keep moving on and on
Ain’t no need to dry my eyes
I haven’t cried in quite some time
Every day I fight it, you know it’s possible

Can’t change the wind you say
Won’t matter anyway
Can’t reach that far ’cause it’s impossible
Can’t rise above this place
Won’t change enough, so I pray
Breaking down the walls to the impossible

Someone tell me why it’s so hard taking chances
You draw the line and think that I won’t ask for more, yeah
I will stumble and I’ll make my own mistakes, yeah
But I won’t worry about it anymore, it’s impossible

Can’t change the wind you say
Won’t matter anyway
Can’t reach that far ’cause it’s impossible
Can’t rise above this place
Won’t change enough, so I pray
Breaking down the walls to the impossible

It’s impossible to you
Not impossible to me
Not impossible for me
Can’t rise above this place
Won’t change enough, so I pray
Breaking down the walls to the impossible

Just woke up and thought I’d try
Try to step across the line

____________________________________________________________________

I hope you enjoyed the lyrics to this song, (which I have now listened to over 260 times) you can check out a lyrical video and listen to the song here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

