Every year our church, The Grove, has a gigantic rummage sale. What a great opportunity to donate all the casualties of my Spring cleaning and try to replace them with something new to me. Last year we weren’t able to attend, so I have been anticipating checking it out and setting aside my donations for months. I have a love/hate relationship with garage sales, estate sales and antique shops. I adore vintage finds, but I cannot stand clutter or dirt, and at times it makes me feel overwhelmed and I have to take a break from my vintage shopping hunts. Since it has been awhile, I was ready to roll and hit up this sale, and the next day hit up the Pomona Antique Row, here in Southern California.

One of the shops in Pomona had a large selection of vintage advertisements. Since I am Mad Men obsessed, I searched through them all to find accounts they serviced on the show in the time period when Mad Men was set. I found Admiral Television, Lucky Strike and Samsonite.

Admiral TV ad

At The Grove Rummage Sale I found these Disney books dated in the 1970’s. We also have others in our collection that my husbands mom saved.
Vintage pink handbag found in Pomona. Really nice and clean inside.
Vintage Pink Nightgown found in Pomona, and I used it in a Pinup photo shoot, photos coming soon! American Tourister Luggage Set from 1980’s. I really like this purple color and the baby pink inside. Both are in great condition.
Pink lining of luggage.

Not pictured: Oil decanter, heart crystal dish and I found a cute old jewelry box for $1 and some bangle bracelets from The Grove Rummage Sale as well. We have a large antique shop here in downtown Riverside that I am hoping to check out in the next few weeks. If I find anything exciting you will all be the first to know.

Happy hunting!

One thought on “Recent vintage finds 

Leave a Reply

