Years ago I tried to make my own laundry detergent. It worked, but for me, I thought it took too much time and effect, so to save my sanity I kept buying it. BUT, I  love DIY stuff that is simple and efficient and have made several recipes that I have come across over my hours pinning on pinterest.  Today I saw a pin to make your own wrinkle release and since I am running low on my store-bought bottle, I figured I would give it a go.

One problem… the recipe called for fabric softener! This would normally not be an issue but when I ran out of fabric softener I just stopped using it and instead have just been putting plain vinegar in place of it. Have no fear, I found a pin to make your own fabric softener, and I did have the ingredients needed for that.

DIY Fabric Softener from Sophia’s Sundries

  • 3 cups distilled vinegar
  • 2 cups hair conditioner (dollar store varieties work just fine)
  • 6 cups water
DIY fabric softener DIY fabric softener

DIY fabric softener

Sophia mentions in her blog that she only did a half batch, and that is exactly what I did as well. I used dollar store conditioner that I had in my guest bathroom, along with some hotel conditioner bottles I had lying around. My detergent bottle was just about empty, so I combined it with my new bottle and washed the old detergent bottle out to move way for the fabric softener.

I put all the ingredients in a bowl and used a whisk to mix them together, poured them in the bottle and added a sticky note (which I taped on the edges to keep in place) just in case someone else was doing laundry and got confused with which is the detergent and which is the softener.

Now that I have fabric softener, I can make my wrinkle releaser!

Wrinkle Releaser from Entirely Eventful Day

  • Bottle water
  • Fabric Softener
  • Isopropyl alcohol

Instead of starting with water, as the recipe states on the blog, I started with adding 2 tbsp. of my new fabric softener and then adding the 2 tbsp. of alcohol. She mentions on her blog that if you use more (or less) water you need to adjust the ratio. The ratio is: 1 tbsp. per 16 oz. of water.I did add 2-3 drops of Lavender essential oil to my wrinkle releaser and it smells heavenly.DIY wrinkle release

Since my store-bought wrinkle release was almost finished, I just poured it out in a spare measuring cup (less than 2/3 of a cup left) and reused the bottle. When I made my 32 oz. of wrinkle release, I added the old in and now it is full and ready to save me from ironing once again.

Side note – The only isopropyl alcohol I had on hand was  wintergreen (dollar store purchase and it was all they had at the time) and I was a little worried it would smell, or leave a green tint to my clothing. I sprayed the releaser on a white cardboard box that I was about to throw out, and there was no tint, so I am safe. Thankfully with 32 oz., of water the green was diluted enough. When I make it again, I will use clear, just so I don’t drive myself crazy. I did notice that the pin itself had blue wrinkle release, so I am assuming that would also dry clear.

Thanks to Sophia’s’ Sundries and Entirely Eventful Day for the recipes!

Come pin with me on pinterest!

Leave a Reply

